Celebrating Collaboration and Achievement in the SA Food Industry

12 Nov 2019

We are very pleased to announce that Paul Triglau has been awarded the 2019 Dr Susan V Nelle Churchill Fellowship to travel to Italy to refine his skills in artisan baking/patisserie. On his return, Paul plans to establish an Italian bakery course at TAFE SA to share his knowledge and enrich South Australia's food industry. 

“The baking sector is a growing landscape that employs around 45,000 bakers/pastry chefs, yet while there is a huge surge of interest in Italian baking/patisserie from both business owners and consumers, there is no Italian specific course in Australia apart from the short 3 day course I currently run. I plan to use the skills I gain in Italy to develop an expanded program that will benefit many bakery owners, bakers and apprentices in South Australia.”    

In collaboration with TAFE SA, The Churchill Trust will hold a media event at TAFE SA Regency International Centre, to celebrate the excitement of Paul's Churchill Fellowship award and journey ahead, and to honour the energy, passion and collaboration Susan V Nelle inspired in the South Australian food and beverage sector. 

Featured food and beverages will include Italian patisserie and baked goods supplied by Paul Triglau, samples from TAFE SA artisan cheesemaker and Churchill Fellow Gina Dal Santo, and local SA produced Italian beverages. Guests will also enjoy a hands-on Italian patisserie ‘mini masterclass’ with Paul and go into the draw to win a delicious food and wine hamper. 

Event Speakers Adam Davey (CEO, Churchill Trust), David Coltman (CE, TAFE SA), and Catherine Sayer (CEO, Food SA) in conversation with Paul Triglau (TAFE SA Churchill Fellowship recipient), Caroline Schaefer (former Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries) and Dennis Mutton (former CEO PIRSA).

Date Thursday 14 November 2019

Time 4:00pm - 6:00pm 

Location TAFE SA Regency International Centre, 137 Days Road, Regency Park, South Australia. 
Download TAFE SA Map

Enquiries Dr Kirsty Guster e kirsty.guster@churchilltrust.com.au t 0437 301 390 


About the Dr Susan V Nelle Fellowship 

Susan V Nelle

Susan Nelle was known for her exceptional ability to engage with, inspire, and bring together individuals, organisations and industries for the benefit of the food industry and higher education in South Australia.

To honour Susan's achievements and continue her legacy, this Churchill Fellowship was established through the collaborative efforts and contributions of Food SA, the Centre for Global Food and Resources University of Adelaide, and the Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA, with additional funding from numerous generous individuals.*

The Trust would like to take this opportunity to thank the many generous individuals and food industry members who supported and generously contributed to this Fellowship: Food SA, the Department of Primary Industries and Regions SA, the Centre for Global Food and Resources University of Adelaide, Mark Laucke, the Susan Collins Angas Memorial Fund, Craig Johns, Michael Milan, Margot and Andy Davidson, Haighs Pty Ltd, Margaret Lehmann, Janet Davidson, Lynne Yeannakis, Tim Mares, Theo Simos, Susan Avery and Phillip Taylor, Catherine Sayer, Ian Dixon, Staffan Ehnbom, Daniel Gregg, Adam Davey, and Sarah Wheeler. 

Read more about Susan and the Dr Susan V Nelle Churchill Fellowship

More news