Announcing the 2018 Churchill Fellowship Recipients

25 Sep 2018


#celebratingcuriosity #2018ChurchillFellows

112 Innovative Australians awarded Churchill Fellowships

Download Official Media Release (416.9 KB)



2018 Churchill Fellows


View the full list of Fellowship recipients


Q: What do a researcher of human-shark relationships, an expert on preventing the rise and risk of extremism, a disability advocate and a local government Councillor have in common? 

A: They are just four of the 112 innovative and inspired thinkers recognised with a 2018 Churchill Fellowship. 

  • The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust has awarded $3.1 million worth of Churchill Fellowships to 112 Australians in 2018.

  • The Fellowships address challenges Australia is facing right now by recognising experts across fields from education to arts, emergency services to health, and agriculture to sport.

  • Fellows are funded to travel internationally, to gather insights and knowledge that will benefit Australia.

One hundred and twelve inspired Australians will travel throughout the world in 2019 as recipients of the prestigious Churchill Fellowship, offering them a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to visit other countries and investigate inspiring practices that will benefit Australian communities.   

The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust was established in 1965 to honour the memory of Sir Winston Churchill, and fulfil his wish for people from all walks of life to travel the world to gain new knowledge and share ideas and insights. 

Fellowships are awarded to everyday Australians who are passionate about challenging the status quo to create or make a positive impact on our society.

“Being recognised as a Churchill Fellow is a celebration of curiosity, they are ordinary Australians withextraordinary abilities and aspirations,” said CEO of the Churchill Trust, Mr Adam Davey.

“The Churchill Fellowship recognises new ideas. It is a celebration of expertise, innovation, expanding knowledge and creating new and better ways of addressing issues that matter in Australia right now. 

“It is 53 years since the first Churchill Fellowships were awarded in honour of Sir Winston, however the projects that will be aided by his legacy are still, as he intended, firmly focussed on the future.

“While the award we offer may be steeped in history, we are proud that it still remains extraordinarily relevant.

“Churchill Fellows are up for a challenge, they are people who can foresee an opportunity, know how to address it and will use this experience to work with and learn from their international peers and some outstanding thought leaders. 

“Each and every one of the 112 Churchill Fellows will return to Australia inspired with the practical knowledge and experience needed to advance their projects and embed new opportunities in Australia.” 

This year 112 people are being awarded Fellowships worth over $3.1 million, funding travel for up to 8 weeks.

Churchill Fellowships have been awarded to 26 people from NSW, 21 from VIC, 19 from QLD, 14 from WA, 7 from the ACT, 9 from SA, 7 from TAS, 7 from the NT and 2 from Norfolk Island.

“We will be sending Fellows from across Australia around the world. Projects range from preventing extremism in Australia to understanding how best to reduce shark attacks on Aussie beaches,” said Davey.

“One project is looking into elder abuse in aged care and the community, and another is looking to improve gender equality in local councils.

“It has been very interesting to see the diversity of topics that have come through this year in the successful Fellowship applications, no two projects are the same.”

Churchill Fellowship applications open again on 1 February 2019


View the full list of Fellowship recipients

Media Contact For interviews with Fellows and CEO Adam Davey contact Sarah Jauncey Australian Public Affairs telephone (02) 9234 3888 or 0417 277 685


Photo credit: 2018 Churchill Fellows from left to right Nick Whiterod, Jasmine Jan, Ben Trewren and Jennifer Roy 

Related News

More news