Churchill Fellows recognised with Australia Day Honours

29 Jan 2014

Think you’ve got what it takes to make the Australia Day Honours List? If you’re thinking of applying for a Churchill Fellowship, you’ll be one step closer to achieving your dream.

Applications will soon close for the prestigious Churchill Fellowships, which each year see more than 100 Australians awarded a Fellowship worth an average of $20,000 each.

The call for applications from The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust coincides with the news that several Churchill Fellows were recognised on the 2014 Australia Day Honours List.

The list, which offers the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievement and service, included seven Churchill Fellows, who were honoured for their achievements in a wide range of fields.

The Honourable Sally Gordon Thomas AM, who served on the Board of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust between 1991 and 2009, was awarded an AC for eminent service to the people of the Northern Territory, particularly to the judiciary and social justice, to the advancement of women in the legal profession, to youth, and to the promotion and development of tertiary education.

Churchill Fellows were awarded honours across several categories, as follows:


  • 1992 Fellow Dr Dimity Ann Dornan AM, for distinguished service to the international community, particularly through the establishment of health care and clinical training programs to prevent and treat hearing loss in babies and young children.


  • 2005 Fellow Mrs Janice Kaye Nitshke for significant service to librarianship in South Australia, and to the community.
  • 2008 Fellow Ms Cheryl Elizabeth Peers, for significant service to primary education, particularly science, to curriculum development, and to professional organisations.
  • 1984 Fellow Ms Adele Deidre Rice, for significant service to secondary education, and to the refugee and migrant community, particularly through the provision of specialist learning and settlement programs.


  • 1998 Fellow Mrs Christina Karen Hindhaugh, for service to the community of Balmoral, and to women in agriculture.
  • 2011 Fellow Mrs Catriona Bowen Tonacia, for service to mental health through programs to address post-traumatic stress disorder. Catriona was also a finalist in the ACT Local Hero award.
  • 2008 Fellow Mr David James Liddiard, for service to Indigenous youth, sporting and employment programs.

Churchill Trust Chief Executive Officer Paul Tys, congratulated the recipients on the honour.

“On behalf of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, I’d like to congratulate all of our Fellows on receiving Australia Day honours.

“Our Fellows have all been motivated to contribute something positive to Australian society in one way or another. It’s wonderful to see their hard work rewarded with such recognition,” he said.

Mr Tys also urged Australians to apply for the prestigious Churchill Fellowships.

“Applications will close in mid February, so I strongly encourage suitable candidates to consider submitting an application.

“A Churchill Fellowship provides you with an opportunity to investigate the best ideas in the world, to do things you never thought possible and to meet people who inspire you in your area of expertise.  It truly is the opportunity of a lifetime,” he said.

Churchill Fellowships fund accommodation and travel for Australians aged over 18 to go overseas for a period of 4-8 weeks, gather information in their field of work or endeavour, create networks and return to share their findings.

No specific qualifications are needed to apply for a Fellowship, and applications can be made across a wide variety of categories, including leadership, education, the arts, community service and health and medicine.

Applications are open until mid-February 2014, for travel between 1 September 2014 and 31 August 2015. Further information and an application package can be obtained online from or by calling 02 6247 8333. 

More news