New National Chair for the Churchill Trust

21 Jun 2017


David Trebeck has been elected as the National Chair of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Board of Directors, announced at the Churchill Trust Annual General Meeting on 14 June, following the retirement of the Honourable Margaret White.

Mr Trebeck, a 1974 Churchill Fellow, has chaired the ACT Churchill Trust Selection Committee since 2014, serving as a member since 2002, and before that as a committee member of the ACT Churchill Fellows' Association. He becomes the eighth National Chair in the Trust’s 52-year history, and the second Churchill Fellow in the role, following Barry Appleton (2004-2011).

He commented that being elected to the position was a great honour and a huge responsibility to enhance the reputation of the Trust, which today manages investment funds of over $100 million and awards over 100 new Fellowships annually.

Mr Trebeck paid tribute to the outstanding performance of the Hon. Margaret White, who has chaired the Trust with distinction from 2012. Since announcing her decision to retire from the position of National Chair, Margaret was appointed to jointly head the Royal Commission into the Detention of Children in the Northern Territory.

David Trebeck is a professional economist and company director. He is President of the ACT Division of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, has been a director of six ASX listed companies over a period of 20 years, including GrainCorp Ltd for 13 years. He has an honours degree in Agricultural Science, a Masters of Economics and is a recipient of the Centenary of Federation Medal.

Also at the Trust’s AGM, Mr Bill Turner, Chairman of the Tasmanian Selection Committee, was elected to the position of National President. Mr Turner has served on the Board of the Trust since 2000 and is a member of both the Investment, Audit and Risk, and Remuneration and Nomination Committees. 

More news