Announcing the 2019 Churchill Fellowship Award Recipients

23 Sep 2019

Announcing the 2019 Churchill Fellowship Award Recipients featured image
From left to right Naomi Lacey, Peter Carter, Anna Reynolds, Russell Kelley and Jaclyn White

  • The Winston Churchill Trust is today awarding Churchill Fellowships to 115 Australians from all walks of life
  • These Australians will travel collectively for more than 5,000 days to over 30 countries at a cost of $3.35m
  • Their projects explore some of the most pressing and emerging challenges Australia is facing
  • Churchill Fellows are funded to travel internationally to gather insights and knowledge that will benefit Australia.

One hundred and fifteen visionary Australians will travel around the world in 2020 as recipients of the prestigious Churchill Fellowship award, offering them a life-changing opportunity to meet and work with leaders of influence to gain and exchange knowledge as well as experience for the betterment of themselves, their industry, community and Australia.

“Churchill Fellowships recognise people with passion and drive, providing an unrivalled opportunity and freedom for people to experience world’s best practice on issues that matter to Australian communities,” said CEO of the Churchill Trust, Mr Adam Davey.

This year Churchill Fellowships have been awarded people from cities and towns across Australia including 24 from NSW, 22 from VIC, 20 from QLD, 14 from WA, 8 from the ACT, 10 from SA, 10 from TAS and 7 from the NT.

This year’s Churchill Fellows will research a staggering variety of issues including predator reduction techniques in farming, preparing athletes for international para-climbing competition, Italian baking and heritage trade training.

“You really need to read the full list of recipients to understand the inspirational range of people, issues and communities in Australia that the Churchill Fellowships announced today will support,” said Mr Davey.

It is 54 years since the first Churchill Fellowships were awarded in honour of Sir Winston Churchill, however the projects that will be aided by his legacy are still, as he intended, firmly focussed on the future.

“While the award we offer may be steeped in history, we are proud that it still remains extraordinarily relevant. Churchill Fellows are up for a challenge, they are people who can foresee an opportunity, know how to address it and will use this experience to work with and learn from their international peers and some outstanding thought leaders.

“Each and every one of the 115 Churchill Fellows will return to Australia armed with the practical knowledge and experience needed to advance their projects and create new opportunities in Australia,” added Mr Davey.

Churchill Fellowship applications open again on 1 February 2020.

For interviews with the newly awarded Churchill Fellows or CEO Adam Davey please call our media contacts below:

  • Julia George Marketing Manager 02 6247 8333 or 0413 522 792 (outside office hours)
  • Emma Robertson Fellowship Engagement Manager 02 6247 8333

Use the categories below to filter the search results: