's cover image

Fellowship:To investigate innovative ways to advance our food and beverage industry Availability: Annually Region: South Australia

Download Susan V Nelle "Celebrating the Life of a Food Industry Visionary" Brochure

The Susan V. Nelle Churchill Fellowship is an enduring reminder of her exceptional contribution to the food industry and higher education in South Australia.

This Fellowship is available for award to South Australian residents working in the food and beverage sector.

The moment Dr Susan Nelle arrived in Australia, in the late 1980s, she knew it was where she belonged. American by birth, Susan loved the straight-forward, laconic nature of Australians.

She quickly learned that by engaging with and gaining the trust of the ‘locals’ she could continue doing what she enjoyed most – helping individuals, organisations and industries to strategically grow and develop. It was in South Australia that Susan found her true community, professionally and personally.

Australians have travelled overseas to advance the food and beverage industry as Churchill Fellows and in support of this initiative share their Fellowship experiences below:

  • Colin Beer Paddock to Plate Pioneer
  • Gina Dal Santo Cheesemaker
  • Robin Shaw Tourism Innovator
  • Susan was appointed as Executive Director of Food for the Future (later renamed Food South Australia) in 1999, where she created a genuine industry-government partnership aimed at stimulating growth within the food industry through innovation, regional food and market development programs.

    Susan’s approach was based on the concept of harnessing the expertise of leading food companies to partner with government to drive growth in South Australia’s food industry.

    This represented a new paradigm of joint industry-government engagement focused on openness, mutual respect, integrity and a commitment towards shared values and development outcomes.

    Susan regularly travelled to rural areas such as the Barossa Valley to engage, inspire, and give voice to emerging regional food groups and artisan producers.

    Susan introduced the Premier’s Food Awards in 1999 to recognise and foster excellence throughout the industry. And she was instrumental in establishing The Food Export Centre in the premises of Business SA. She fostered a commitment to excellence and achievement and brought courage to her role in challenging traditional thinking and the rigid structures within government and industry.

    Increasingly, Susan’s leadership and achievements were being recognized at the national level.

    In 2001 she won Gourmet Traveller magazine’s Jaguar Award for Innovation in Food and, in 2002 was a finalist in the South Australian Telstra Business Woman of the Year.

    Susan’s ongoing contribution to Australia’s food industry saw her work as Managing Director of the National Food Industry Strategy in Canberra and as a Senior Research Fellow with the Australian Innovation Centre (University of Tasmania) and the Centre for Global Food and Resources (University of Adelaide).

    This sponsored Fellowship is offered with the support of the Department of Primary Industries and Regions, South Australia (PIRSA).

    The funds for this award were raised through a public campaign and event organised and attended by the Centre for Global Food and Resources (University of Adelaide), SA Food industry stakeholders and the Churchill Trust.

    Read more about Susan Nelle

    Fellow Year Category Media